Kitsap County

NOTICE OF INTENT TO OBTAIN CUSTODY
VESSEL with Washington Registration WN6628NJ, or HIN #WNZ1373EA070

The Authorized Public Entity Kitsap County declared the vessel, with Washington Registration # WN6628NJ, as derelict
or abandoned. The vessel is a 1970, 30 ft., FEY fiberglass sail boat with an inboard engine that is sunken in Liberty Bay,
approximately 150 yards off Lemolo Shore Drive. The vessel is located on private tidelands in the Poulsbo area.

Kitsap County, acting as an authorized public entity with the authority granted in RCW 79.100, intends to take custody of
the vessel on November 6, 2024 (Custody Date). After taking custody of the vessel, Kitsap County may use or dispose
of it without further notice to the owner.

In order to keep the vessel, before the Custody Date, the owner must:
= Get authorization to moor or anchor the vessel in its current location, or
= Move it to an anchorage area, moorage facility, or storage location that authorizes the vessel.
= Remove the vessel from the water.

If the owner wants to reclaim the vessel after Kitsap County has custody, or wants to challenge Kitsap County’s decision
to take custody, the owner must file a written appeal with the Pollution Control Hearings Board (PCHB) and serve a copy
on Kitsap County. Addresses are in the boxes below:

Pollution Control Hearings Board (send one original and one copy)
Physical address: 1111 Israel Road, Ste. 301
Tumwater, WA 98501
Mailing address: PO Box 40903
Olympia, WA 98504-0903
Phone: 360-664-9160

Kitsap County

Department of Community Development
614 Division St. MS-36

Port Orchard, WA 98366

The appeal must include the following information:
= A copy of this notice or a copy of the notification letter to the owner.
= Your name and address (mailing and legal, if different) and, if applicable, the name and address of your representative.
= A daytime phone number.
= A brief statement why you are appealing.
= A statement of what you want the Pollution Control Hearings Board to do.
= Your signature or that of your representative. This signature certifies that the content of the appeal is true.

See https://eluho.wa.gov/or call the PCHB at the number above with appeal questions.

The owner may submit the appeal immediately, but the PCHB must receive it no later than December 6, 2024 (Appeal
Date). The owner waives the right to a hearing if the PCHB does not receive an appeal on or before the Appeal
Date. The owner is then liable for any costs incurred by Kitsap County in responding to the vessel.

These costs may include all administrative costs incurred by Kitsap County, removal and disposal costs, and costs
associated with environmental damages directly or indirectly caused by the vessel. If there is a lawsuit, the successful
party may receive reasonable attorneys’ fees and costs.

Kitsap County also may pursue any other remedies available under law. For example, Kitsap County may take temporary
possession of the vessel under the circumstances described in the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 79.100.040(3).
You can find a copy of this law online at http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.100 .

For more information, contact Kirvie Mesebeluu-Yobech at Kitsap County at 360-337-5777, ext. 4816 or
kyobech@Kkitsap.gov.



https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Feluho.wa.gov%2F&data=04%7C01%7CTAMMY.ROBBINS%40dnr.wa.gov%7C3f39eaa1327849eb059608da1347e28c%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C637843496703745027%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000&sdata=%2BUGigtfWilG7lz8QtKhVb%2BRMm4UzRQhbK%2FDBmHHDWgw%3D&reserved=0
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=79.100
mailto:kyobech@kitsap.gov

