

SSB 5305 ELECTRIC UTILITIES WILDLAND FIRE TASK FORCE Meeting Minutes

September 4, 2019, 1:00-3:00 p.m.
Natural Resources Building, Room 172, Olympia, WA

TASK FORCE MEMBERS PRESENT

Ben Rushwald, PSE
David Gottula, Okanogan County Electric Cooperative
David James, Avista
Diane Meyers, Weyerhaeuser
Erik Wahlquist, Chelan County PUD
Garry Rosman, Inland Power and Light
Gary Margheim, DNR Chief Wildland Fire Investigator
George Geissler, DNR State Forester & Deputy Supervisor Wildfire & Forest Health, Task Force Chair
George Yates, Small Forest Landowners
Jim Smith, Klickitat PUD
Ronda Strauch, Seattle City Light

DNR TASK FORCE STAFF PRESENT

Loren Torgerson, Wildfire Policy Advisor Jennifer Willms, Legislative Affairs Manager/Executive Assistant

- 1:00 Welcome and Safety Briefing, Loren Torgerson, DNR
- 1:05 Welcome address by the Commissioner of Public Lands, Hilary Franz
- 1:15 Roundtable introductions, George Geissler, Task Force Chair
- 1:25 Review of the draft Task Force Charter, George Geissler, Task Force Chair
 - Convened per the Commissioner
 - Authority through SSB 5305
 - Subject to OPMA
 - Chair Designee
 - List of duties reviewed—spells out the time for meetings, how meetings will be conducted, public disclosure, time commitments, etc.

2:00 Discussion ensued around the charter, duties of the task force, data needs, and additional items for consideration

See attachment

2:45 Future meetings

- The next meeting is scheduled for November 15, 2019 at the Natural Resource Building in Olympia from 10:00-4:00.
- A facilitator will be brought in to move forward with task force deliverables. The facilitator will be present at the November meeting.

3:00 Meeting Adjourned